Skip to content

I failed in life

July 27, 2011

So, I’m pretty sure my PhD thesis is going to fail. I did such an awful job of it in the last minute panic that I didn’t do one key thing and left many huge errors in it. It’s slightly better than the first time I submitted it but I don’t think it’s going to be good enough.  So that’s the first fail.

Second, I’m applying for this crummy part-time job, and I realize that I still don’t have a decent reference. My academic supervisor doesn’t really want to have anything to do with me, I’m sure, but I don’t have an acceptable substitute. Since I’ve wasted the last 6 years on this slow descent into total failure I don’t really have anyone else to ask. Which pretty much guarantees that I’ll never get a job, because not having anyone willing to vouch for your competence is a pretty clear indication that you are in fact incompetent.

How did a relatively smart person fuck up so badly?

From → Career

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

